What’s a blog to do?

Standard

This past month my role at Briercrest shifted back more closely into the Seminary as Dean. Although I remain in an administrative post, I am hoping to be able to spend just a bit more time writing. Indeed, I am working on a little book with IVP on Barth (keep posted) that hopefully will see completion sooner rather than later.

In the meantime, I’ve realized that Theommentary has suffered. So today I am attempting to begin afresh with a redesign. I don’t know if I will like it long-term, but for now, let me know what you think.

More importantly, I would love feedback from anyone who might still be following (though I wonder how many are!). For those who know me a bit more or who have read lots of my previous postings, I would appreciate hearing what you think Theommentary could accomplish in the months to come. What kinds of topics or ideas would you like me to tackle?

Secondarily, if anyone wants to talk about it, I guess I’d be curious to know if the “theo-blog” is even going to persist in the coming months and years. Is anyone reading them? I know my own blog reading time has been seriously limited, but that could just be me. Do you see any patterns or trends I should know about?

Thanks for sticking with me. Hopefully

4 thoughts on “What’s a blog to do?

  1. Slick re-design, but I find it a little visually overwhelming when I actually try to read your post. For whatever it’s worth. 🙂

    I’ve heard about the IVP book. Get it done!

    As for theology blogs, we’re still alive and kicking at DET. Readership is down but still there. Interaction has dried up, shifting to Facebook and Twitter.

  2. I enjoy your blog and am glad to see you’re still at it! I have been following for some time and have been blogging myself for about four years (I think). I don’t have much advice about the aesthetics of the platform, but I have been told the white text/black background format can be easier on the eyes. I see believe the theo-blogging genre will survive and thrive — in fact I’m working to do my part to make it so. Many people (myself included) use social media to share posts, so you might consider having Facebook and Twitter share tabs on your page.

  3. I think the New Design works well. Easy to read. Great background and nice transparency ratio.
    I definitely think you should tackle(as you normally do) on bridging the gap between church and academic theology.
    As far as trends, I find myself reading shorter blogs rather than larger and usually they pop up in my twitter or facebook.

  4. David Vandervelde

    I check your blog, always hoping for some new content.

    I enjoy all that you have posted in the past. I’s encourage you to post anything you can offer that helps raise public discourse around current issues and events in the church, our country and the world.

    Blessings, David

Comments are closed.