Airing the Hitchens’ Differences

Standard

Most everyone has probably heard of Christopher Hitchens, the author of God is not great – how religion poisons everything. Hitchens represents that new breed of angry atheists who are not only convinced that God does not exist, but want to show just how dangerous it is to keep allowing religions to keep saying that he does. What many may not know is that Christopher has a younger brother named Peter, also a well known (though obviously lesser so) author and journalist who is now a man of faith.

Interestingly, both Hitchens brothers have recently released memoirs that appear to be written from almost entirely opposite perspectives. Brother Christopher’s memoir is entitled, Hitch-22: A Memoir, but brother Peter’s is evocatively entitled, The Rage Against God – how atheism led me to faith. You can read a review of both by Simon Smart on the Public Christianity website.

While you are over at the Public Christianity website, you might as well head over to another good review by Smart on David Bentley Hart’s book called, Atheist Delusions – the Christian Revolution and its Fashionable Enemies, as well as a series of interesting interviews with Hart here.

2 thoughts on “Airing the Hitchens’ Differences

  1. Ah, David, my patience is rewarded! I saw the book when it first came out, but because I didn’t agree with the title, I didn’t pay attention to it. I wondered at the time if it was a case of “ostrich” – sticking my head in the sand about something unpleasant but important. I figured you might eventually have something to say about it, and here you are, with some intriguing info. (BTW, the first time I saw the title, I thought it might be a rant against terrorism, but that’s a whole thought process probably better left unexplored!)

Comments are closed.