Wildlife day

Standard

 

Today has been wildlife day here at Caronport. Ok, it’s not all wild, but since 6:30 this morning, I saw:

  • A sheep running through the streets of Caronport (this is the “non-wild” animal). I’m assuming he came from the “other side” of the highway…
  • The first robin of Spring (Ok, maybe not the first one, but it is the first one I’ve seen…)
  • And the following bird:bird2

Since I am decidedly and officially “bird challenged,” I don’t know what it is. But I’m fairly certain I’ve never seen one here at Caronport before. And yes, those are berries and leaves on our mountain ash–they just refused to let go from last fall!

Can anyone help me identify it?

And though this is most definitely not an ostrich, I give you a snippet from Vater Barth:

God’s creation includes ostriches whose aptitude thus seems highly contestable. Yet we are then told that this bird also has witness to give: “What time she lifteth, up herself on high, she scorneth the horse and his rider”—yes, even the noble steed and his nobler rider! It is obviously better to be ranked with stupid ostriches to God’s glory, and finally to have something to laugh about, than to enjoy the glory of perhaps a much cleverer existence elsewhere.

Karl Barth, Church Dogmatics, III/4, 628.
6 thoughts on “Wildlife day

  1. Superb picture, David! That looks like a bohemian waxwing to me, same as we have here in the “north”. Their coloring is slightly different from the cedar waxwing, which tend to be a bit redder in body color (hence the cedar in the name). The big clues are his regal, tufted head and his choice of berries. Whichever kind it is, waxwings are beautiful birds, so sleek, and their exquisite coloring a tribute to their Creative Creator!

  2. The berry of choice is Mountain Ash berries. I checked Joey’s birdbook, and the pictures there seem closer to the Cedar Waxwing than the Bohemian Waxwing. But online pictures of both just confuse me more. Waxwing it is…but which variety? Not sure…I know it isn’t an ostrich!

  3. Hi David,
    That would be a cedar waxwing. We had a mountain ash tree next door to us when we lived there and they would decend on it en-mass in early spring and clean the tree of all its red berries. They’re nice looking birds.

    Grant

  4. ajmoyse

    I would argue that this is a cedar waxwing given that the bohemian waxwing tends to live further north. However, both tend to be seen in Saskatchewan. Beautiful picture either way.

    Ashley

Comments are closed.