“Good works”

Standard

I just finished over my lunch hour this enjoyable little book called Crazy Talk: A Not-So-Stuffy Dictionary of Theological Terms. (My family will never let me live this down–as a kid I used to read the dictionary; then I was co-author of one; now I’m still reading ’em…anyways…) I’ll do a little review of the book later, but for now, here’s a sampler of a great entry that says so much by saying so little.

Works, Good \gud wuhrks\ n.

What you do because you don’t have to do anything.

Your friend invites you to dinner. You ask, “What can I bring?”
Your friend answers, “Nothing; there is nothing you can bring. I’ve got it all covered.”
Out of gratitude, you bring something anyway.

Now read this article again. But . . . 

For “friend” substitute “Lord.”
For “invites you to dinner” substitute “saves you from your sins.”
For “bring” substitute “do.”

Rolf A Jacobson, ed. Crazy Talk: A Not-So-Stuffy Dictionary of Theological Terms p. 181.

