Teaching this Week

Standard

Even though I’m on sabbatical, I’ve agreed to teach a one week seminary modular this term which begins today. It is called “Truth and Method: Authority, Formation, and Practice of Theology.” (subtitled, “With apologies to Hans Georg Gadamer.”)  I begin the class today with reflections on Psalm 19. Of course, I can’t go into the detail here, but I’ve become increasingly struck with the the last verse, v. 14: “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart, be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” 

When all is said and done, it is far less about whether the teaching has been clear, whether the thoughts have been profound, or whether my students like me, but whether the words and meditations are pleasing to God. That is my prayer as I start this week. Your prayers are appreciated.

One thought on “Teaching this Week

  1. Brad Penner

    While it is good to pray for the professor teaching the class, it is even more imperative to pray for the students due to the fact that they have to read Torrance and try to comprehend him!

    This course (BT 656) has forever changed the way I research and write. I am still wonderfully scarred, even two years down the road.

    BP

Comments are closed.